Six land snail species from across the Lesser Sunda Islands have so far been assigned to the camaenid genus Rhagada Albers, 1860. Previous taxonomic treatments have emphasised shell features, which were usually inferred from small series of specimens. Based on the study of newly collected, ethanol preserved material from various islands, I compared the penial anatomy of four species and analysed the mitochondrial differentiation of three. In addition, I completely review the previous literature on the Lesser Sunda species. Six previously named species are recognised as full species: R. solorensis (Martens, 1863) from Solor, R. colona (Martens, 1877) from Dana Island, R. ?oresiana (Martens, 1891) from Flores, R. supracostulata (Schepman, 1892) from Sumba, R. marghitae Falconieri, 1995 from Nusa Penida, and R. setzeri Maassen, 2009 from Alor. In addition, a new subspecies, R. setzeri atauroensis n. subsp. from Atauro Island, Timor-Leste, and a new species, Rhagada abbasi n. sp. from Lembata Island, are described based on morphological and molecular evidence

Full text

Bibliographic Data

On the land snail Rhagada Albers, 1860 (Gastropoda, Camaenidae) from across the Lesser Sunda Islands
Köhler, F
Publication Type
Refereed Article
Raffles Bulletin of Zoology
Number of pages
Full Text
Full text